What Dr. Micheal Collins Taught Me

Last year, I was just starting to become interested in medicine when I read the book, “Blue Collar Blue Scrubs,” by Dr. Micheal Collins about his long path to being a surgeon. This book really changed my perspective about how the world really works. It was a memoir of a surgeon who describes how he transformed from a construction worker to a doctor. Although he was happy with his initial job as a construction worker, he realized later on that he wanted to involve himself into something bigger and more meaningful than crushing rocks and drinking beer. That’s when Dr. Micheal Collins decided to go to medical school and become a doctor. Reading about his difficult situation really shook me because I have so much that I can do with my life as well. The only thing I needed to do was take an initiative for myself.

Dr. Micheal Collins’ memoir proved me wrong. I always thought that you had to be from a certain , educated background to become a surgeon/physician, but I never looked at the bigger picture, which was that anyone willing to make an effort to help out mankind could do it. Dr. Collins wasn’t from a rich, highly-educated family. He was just from a mediocre Irish family, which faced many difficulties. He rose above from all of that and decided to put his gifted hands to a meaningful cause for the sake of humanity.

This book definitely caused my brain to release a bunch of dopamine so I thought I would share it with you, if you don’t already know about it.

Go check it out if you’re interested. I promise you won’t regret it. (:

http://www.michaeljcollinsmd.com/bluecollar.php

Leave a Reply

